Friday Leftovers

In about 36 hours, Lent will be over, my 40 days without meat will be no more, and I’ll be sitting down for an enormous Greek meal of amazing-ness. It’s a feast. Roasted lamb, lamb meatballs, ham, spanakopita, tzatziki, Greek cheeses, orzo, more lamb, a plethora of Greek desserts, and probably a dozen other dishes that I can’t think of at the moment.

As I’ve noted before, I’m not Greek but I’ve been observing Lent in solidarity with my girlfriend. I’ve celebrated Easter with her family for the last few years, but this is the first time that I’ve avoided meat for Lent. It’s been a good experience and much easier than I originally expected – it just takes a little extra thought and planning for your meals. Plus, it was a great opportunity to try out a bunch of new recipes; and I learned to bake bread.¬† In fact, I’ll be bringing a few loaves of no-knead bread for Easter dinner. But I’ll be honest – I cannot wait to eat some meat this weekend.

I hope everyone has a great Easter weekend. Here’s some reading from around the interwebs.

Around DC:

Speaking of Greek Easter, Zaytinya will be serving up a special Easter lamb feast brunch and dinner menu on Sunday. Additional specials will run through April 18th.

Local gelateria Dolcezza will be opening up a Dupont Circle location on April 15th. More details from Tim Carman on the Young & Hungry blog.

First Lady Michelle Obama kicked off spring on Wednesday with the second annual planting of the White House garden, which has been expanded by 500 square feet this year. Obama Foodorama has the details here.

Around the Web:

More Easter! NPR has a nice feature on the bounty that is a Greek Easter dinner.

Looks Delicious:

Meat! This Tangy Spiced Brisket from Smitten Kitchen looks amazing. I just got a slow cooker a few weeks ago and might have to try it out once Lent is over.

Leave a Reply

