All Things Pumpkin Flavored, Volume 1: Muffins and Doughnuts

It’s that time of year again when all things are pumpkin flavored, and I like the pumpkin flavored goods. Since there is so much pumpkin going around these days, it would be impossible to cover it all in one post, so I’m gonna break it up into a few posts in the coming weeks.  And what better way to start then with muffins and doughnuts.

 

Pumpkin Spice Muffins from Firehook: Most of you in the DC area are probably familiar with the Firehook Bakery chain. The Capitol Hill location was a few blocks away from my old office and it was my coffee shop of choice for a several years (now I’m stuck downtown in a sea of Starbucks and other national chains). Aside from wanting to support a locally-owned bakery, one of the things that kept me going back was the pumpkin spice muffin. It’s a fairly simple muffin, and thankfully they don’t put nuts or raisins or anything like that in the batter. Instead, they let the flavor of the muffin speak for itself and sprinkle a few nuts and a bit of sugar on the top. Without a doubt, the Firehook pumpkin spice muffin is my morning pastry of choice in DC. Firehook must know they have a good thing going with this muffin because they serve it year round.

 

Pumpkin Doughnuts from Top Pot (okay, not quite a DC establishment, but so good): Top Pot is a local Seattle coffee and doughnut shop chain. You might also recognize the Top Pot name from the doughnuts that Starbucks recently started selling in their stores. But don’t let that disillusion you, this place makes some seriously good doughnuts. Lucky for me, I have some friends that live just three blocks from a Top Pot (hello Brian and Alicia). And even better, Top Pot makes one hell of a pumpkin flavored doughnut. It’s glazed too. Unlike the Krispy Kreme or Dunkin Donuts, which are for the most part light and fluffy, Top Pot doughnuts are bit heavier and have a cake batter-like consistency. I know that Krispy Kreme doughnuts can be addicting, but I don’t think you can qualify them as doughnuts. It’s almost as though they shaped some cotton candy in a circle and dipped it in icing. I want a doughnut with some there there, and in the case of the Top Pot doughnut, there’s some pumpkin there too! Perfect!

Stay tuned for additional posts on all things pumpkin flavored, including beer, coffee, and more baked goods. And feel free to share any of your favorite pupkin flavored items.

3 thoughts on “All Things Pumpkin Flavored, Volume 1: Muffins and Doughnuts

  1. I enjoy a couple good pumpkin beers, particularly the Shipyard one. Though, more than 2 in a night, and maybe 6 over the course of the season, is too much for me to handle. Let’s get that pumpkin beer post up ASAP!

  2. Thanks Evan, you’ll be happy to know that I’m picking up a few pumpkin brews to sample later tonight. Hopefully I’ll have a post by early next week. I’d love to include a few of the Maine micro-brews, but they are hard to find in the DC area.

    It’s also worth noting that I’m sipping on a pumpkin flavored latte as I write this. Definitely not as good as a beer, but might be worth another post.

  3. There is a great pumpkin beer from Maine being sold at trader joe’s right now….its only $5.29 for a 6 pack, and I want to say its Kennebunkport or Bar Harbor Pumpkin Ale…one of those summery Maine towns. Good stuff! Other good ones are Smuttynose Punkinhead, or Dogfish Pumpkin Ale (or anything Dogfish, for that matter).

Leave a Reply

