Proof Proves Itself Once Again (sorry, that lame pun is too easy)

For the second year in a row, I celebrated my birthday (last week) at Proof. My first visit last year definitely left me with a great impression, and that was confirmed by last week’s visit. This left me thinking to myself, why did it take me a year to return? I’ll blame it on the state of the economy for now, but it probably comes down to laziness and the countless other new DC restaurants getting in the way. Regardless, Proof is not a restaurant to be ignored.

I’m not looking to post a long review, so I’ll keep it simple. While Proof might be one of the swankiest wine bars with one of the most well stocked (and pricey) wine menus in DC, the real show stopper is the food. I don’t even know if I can describe it, seriously, it’s just that good. But I’ll try. Take the sablefish for example, it’s amazing. Hands down one of the most stand out dishes I’ve tasted at a restaurant in DC. Incredibly tender and juicy inside, but with a delicious and crispy miso glaze on the outside. The halibut is excellent as well; they clearly know how to serve up great fish dishes. There are a few good poultry and meat options on the menu too – I recommend the duck. And don’t skip over the small dishes, which include a variety of choices for the adventuresome (or culinary food snobs), including foie gras, veal sweetbreads, and wagyu beef carpaccio.

Not to overlook the quality wine menu that Proof offers, but the food is really good. Did I mention that? Okay, so the wine menu. Unless you’re willing to pay top dollar for a bottle of Lafite or Haut-Brion, I’d stick with the wines by the glass. With nearly 40 wines by the glass to choose from, you can easily and affordably mix and match wines based on your food choices. The champagne cart is pretty cool too, so you might want to order a glass just for kicks.

So if you haven’t been to Proof yet, go. Soon, maybe tomorrow if you can.

Proof
775 G Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
202-737-7663
Leave a Reply

