Lent Update: My New Best Friend

A few weeks ago I wrote a post about giving up meat for Lent, so I thought I’d write a quick update. At the time, the task seemed a bit daunting, but so far so good. I haven’t strayed. Not once. I’ve been tempted, believe me. But making sure that I avoid walking by Five Guys at all times has proven to be quite helpful.

I’ve also made a new best friend – Mark Bittman’s cookbook “How to Cook Everything.” It’s an incredibly accessible and in-depth cookbook, and it has become my number one go-to for easy and straight-forward recipes. It also has hundreds of vegetarian options. As noted in a previous post, I’ve made no-knead bread and now I’m also three weeks into a decent sourdough starter. Rice pilaf, infused olive oil, pizza, Spanish rice and beans, and most curry with lentils and potato have all made it to the table recently as well. They’re fairly basic recipes, but still good to add to my repertoire. Up next, I’m hoping to try my hand at lo mein, dal (more lentils), roasted chick peas, and a recipe or two from the fish & seafood section of the book.

And speaking of best friends:

Not at all food related, but I loved that movie. I also have a thing for posting videos these days.

One thought on “Lent Update: My New Best Friend

  1. I love that book! I steal it from my roommate all the time. I guess I’ll have to buy my own when I move out, and I’m told that the “how to cook everything vegetarian” is NOT just the original with the meat dishes taken out!

Leave a Reply

