Roasted Chickpeas

I eat a lot of chickpeas, primarily in the form of hummus. It’s a staple in my apartment and there’s rarely a time when there isn’t a container of hummus in the fridge. Or in the fridge at my office. It might sound silly, but it’s one of those things that I think helps me eat better – because unless there’s some hummus in my fridge, that bag of baby carrots is going to be sitting in the bottom drawer for a while.

This week though, I thought I’d mix it up and try out this recipe for roasted chickpeas. I’ve had my eye on it for a while, and, as you might now, I can’t seem to get enough of Mark Bittman’s cookbook these days. These make for a good snack when entertaining and go well with a nice cold beer.

Roasted Chickpeas
Recipe from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything

1 can chickpeas
2 cloves garlic, minced
Olive oil
Salt
Spice of your choosing

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Rinse the chickpeas and pat dry with a paper towel. Coat a skillet with a good amount of oil and heat to medium. Add the chickpeas, garlic, salt and pepper, and shake the pan so that the chickpeas are coated in oil and in one layer.

Put the skillet in the oven and cook for 15-20 minutes, shaking occasional. They should have a nice golden brown color at this point. If you want the chickpeas to be crunchier, cook for 30-35 minutes. Remove from the oven and drain the chickpeas on a plate lined with a paper towel.  Season with a spice of your choice, or keep it simple and just use some kosher salt. I used chili powder, but spices like curry powder or Old Bay would work well too.  Serve warm.

A few thoughts. As noted above,  you can cook the chickpeas to a different consistency and texture. I ended up going for crunchier, but next time I think I’ll opt for the shorter cooking time. I was hoping to get a bit of char on the chickpeas, which was the primary reason I cooked them for a longer amount of time. But as I learned, the crunchier the chickpeas the drier they are, which might not be ideal for everyone. As I was cooking though, I did test a few chickpeas at the 20 mark in the oven and they were much softer and not nearly as dry.

Leave a Reply

