It’s Almost Grilling Season, but…

I don’t have a grill anymore. It was one of the trade-offs when we moved to our new apartment last fall. No backyard and no space for a grill; but our apartment has an amazing kitchen. The lack of a grill hasn’t been a problem so far, mostly because it hasn’t been good grilling weather. And I love my new kitchen.

But then it got warm. Then it got worse. I smelled barbecue in the evening air a few nights ago. The faint smell of meat cooking over an open flame, instantly recognizable. Oh, three-burner gas grill with your spacious surface area, pumping out all of those BTUs and grilling steaks to perfection. I’m sorry I had to sell you, but I hope you’re happy in your new home. I miss you, I really do. And you too, little charcoal Weber that we used as a backup, even though you were a pain in the ass and took forever to heat up.*

I’m not sure what I’m going to do. In fact, I think I’m still in denial. One of the first things I bought for the new kitchen was a heavy duty cast iron griddle, but I haven’t quite mastered it yet. And really, it’s just not the same as having a grill right outside your backdoor. It was so easy. Any day of the week. Grab a beer, light the grill, throw on some food, and grill. Like magic, food is instantly transformed on a grill. You can’t get the same flavors when cooking in the kitchen.

Clearly, this isn’t going to be easy. Luckily, I have a few friends with nice backyards, grills and all. But I’m not sure it’s going to be enough, and I can see it playing out badly. I’ll end up becoming “that guy.”  You know, like that neighborhood kid when you were growing up that always invited himself over to play with your new toys – you’re brand new G.I. Joe toys, for example. Sooner or later, I’ll be showing up at their door uninvited and at random hours with a glazed over look on my face…grill, I must grill now. It’s inevitable.

I’ll just need to remember to bring enough food to grill for them too.

– – –

*Don’t hate on my preference for a gas grill. Wax poetic all you want about a charcoal grill, but I’m sorry if I don’t have the time to wait 45 minutes for the grill to get to the proper heat just so I can grill up only a couple of pieces of chicken or a steak. And yeah yeah, charcoal gives better flavor. Sure. I love that lighter fluid flavor on my burger. Please, give me a break.

3 thoughts on “It’s Almost Grilling Season, but…

  1. so unfortunate! sadly, tony’s grill is gone, so it won’t be worth your time to show up on his deck. but you’re still welcome to stop by at random hours with a glazed look.

Leave a Reply

