Peppercorn-Crusted Steak

I recently upgraded my camera to a Nikon D3000. It’s a major improvement over my old Sony point and shoot and should be a welcome addition in my kitchen and beyond. I haven’t used a camera of this quality in several years and it will like take some practice to get back into the swing of things (f-stop, what’s that?), but so far so good.

Which brings me to the photo for this post – Peppercorn-Crusted Steak. This is an old stand by and one my favorite preperations for steak. For this particular steak, I used a recipe from Thomas Keller’s Ad Hoc at Home cookbook (another recent addition in my kitchen). It’s a very straightforward technique and a great option for those that are cooking without a grill. In this exampe, I used a thick cut of hanger steak, but you can use almost any cut of steak for the recipe.

I’m on vacation in Maine for the week and hopefully I’ll be able to add a few more posts in the coming days with photos from my trip. I’ve already got one in the works of a big steaming bowl of steamers that we had with dinner last night. Hopefully the photos will get better and better.

Leave a Reply

