Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread with Coffee

It’s no secret that I love pumpkin flavored foods. It’s well documented in fact. Above all else, pumpkin bread reigns supreme in my book. And while I’ve had my fair share of pumpkin beer in recent months, I realized the other day that I had yet to bake any pumpkin bread this fall. A full week into November no less. This needed to change.

So, I fired up the oven on Sunday morning and went with an old standby family recipe (which I’ve included here on the blog before). But with a slight twist this time – chocolate chips. And better photos for the blog post.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread
Makes 1 loaf

2 eggs
1/3 cup water
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 3/4 cups flour
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 tspn baking soda
3/4 tspn salt
1/2 tspn cinnamon
1/2 tspn nutmeg
Pinch powdered cloves
3/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease on loaf pan.

Beat the eggs. Add the water, oil and pumpkin and mix well.

Sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Make a well in the center and  add the pumpkin mixture. Stir until fully incorporated. Fold in the chocolate chips. Pour the batter into the pan.

Bake in the oven for 1 hour. If the top of the loaf is unsettled after 1 hour, continue baking in 3 minute increments until it becomes firm. Remove the loaf from the oven and cool on a rack.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

  1. I decided to leave out the chocolate chips, because I just didn’t want to go that sweet, but this was delish!

    Girlfriends who came over for tea and “dessert” on Sunday night loved it and ate half. Co-workers polished off the other half for breakfast this morning– gone before 9am. Such a diverse little loaf!

  2. So I made this recipe while babysitting over the weekend (I’d made it last year, too) and they loved it so much that I gave the recipe out to about 10 mothers. The perfect pumpkin bread recipe.

Leave a Reply

