Celebrating The Minimalist: Ginger Fried Rice

Ginger Fried Rice

After 13 years in print, Mark Bittman’s Minimalist column comes to a close today. As you may know from reading my blog, I’m a big fan of Bittman’s. His How to Cook Everything is one of the most used cookbooks in my kitchen and I’m an avid reader of the Minimalist column. And in recent years, Bittman has taken up the cause of promoting a more healthy and environmentally sustainable food system, which earns him bonus points in my book.

Bittman won’t be going very far, though, as he is heading to the Times’ op-ed page to write on food issues more broadly. While the Minimalist column will be missed, he’ll be adding a much-needed voice to a critically important topic.

So in celebration of the Minimalist, I’m posting this fried rice recipe from one of last year’s columns. If there’s a recipe I’ve found myself going back to time and time again, it’s this one. In fact, I often cook more rice than I need for other recipes just so I can have leftover rice to use the next day. It’s that good, quite simple, and requires “minimal” effort.

Ginger Fried Rice
From Mark Bittman’s Minimalist column

 

Serves 4
1/2 cup peanut oil
2 tablespoons minced garlic
2 tablespoons minced ginger
Salt
2 cups thinly sliced leeks, white and light green parts only, rinsed and dried (I used green onions and a white onion)
4 cups day-old cooked rice, preferably jasmine, at room temperature
4 large eggs
2 teaspoons sesame oil
4 teaspoons soy sauce.

In a large skillet, heat 1/4 cup peanut oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and ginger and cook, stirring occasionally, until crisp and brown. Remove with a slotted spoon, transfer to a paper towel and salt lightly.

Reduce the heat to medium-low and add 2 tablespoons oil and the leeks. Cook for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until very tender but not browned. Season lightly with salt. Raise heat to medium and add rice. Cook, stirring well, until heated through. Season to taste with salt.

In a nonstick skillet, fry the eggs in the remaining oil, sunny-side-up, until edges are set but yolk is still runny.

Divide the rice among four dishes. Top each with an egg and drizzle with 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil and 1 teaspoon soy sauce. Sprinkle crisped garlic and ginger over everything and serve.

3 thoughts on “Celebrating The Minimalist: Ginger Fried Rice

    • I was going to post this a few months back, but noticed a bunch of others had posted it too, so I filed it away. I make it all the time, so it was an easy recipe to turn to last week, and I already had the photo! Your photos were much better though, if I recall.

Leave a Reply

