Celebrate Food Day

 

Today is Food Day, so I thought I’d post a few things. First, if you haven’t heard of Food Day,  check it out.

Luckily for me, my job allows me to work on food issues full-time. Right now I’m working to improve U.S. food and farm policy (i.e., the “Farm Bill”) by expanding local and regional food systems. Back in August, one of my colleagues at UCS put out a great report, “Market Forces,” on the economic benefits of local and regional food. Since then we’ve been working on legislation to bolster federal support for local agriculture, which is going be introduced within the next week by Congresswoman Chellie Pingree (from the great state of Maine!) and Senator Sherrod Brown. You can read more about it in this press release from Congresswoman Pingree.  So to celebrate Food Day, you should click on this action alert from UCS and tell  your members of Congress to support this legislation.

Lastly, take a look at this excellent video from Chipotle (featuring a great Willie Nelson cover of one of my favorite Cold Play songs). It pretty much sums up what my day job is all about.

 

One thought on “Celebrate Food Day

Leave a Reply

